Judge your friend favorably

I was sitting in shul learning on Motzei Shabbos. A few tables way another person was sitting. His cell phone rang a few times quite loudly. Every time it rang it broke my concentration. I was trying to judge him favorably, but I couldn’t think of a reason why he didn’t set the phone on vibrate mode. I asked Hashem to help me judge him favorably. Hashem helped me remember a situation when my phone rang in shul. I just got a cell phone and I wasn’t yet  used to turn it off before davening. When it rang during shemona esrah my mind froze and I didn’t think of turning the phone off. I’m sure that people had a hard time judging me favorably. Therefore, I decided to judge the person favorably even though I couldn’t understand his reason.

Leave a Reply

